How to post, how to add pics, how to add an attachment, and how to share a YouTube video...

Author Topic: PLASTIC!  (Read 82 times)

Offline the_imperfectionest

• Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 123.0.0.0 Chrome 123.0.0.0
PLASTIC!
« on: April 11, 2024, 10:26:12 AM »
Hello all!

I'm a bit new to the LE bunch!

Anyways, I have mostly restored a Maxair Hummer and now took on a Mitchell wing.

But I dunno, the whole energy of 'You ain't gunna tell me no!' of the LE is important to me.

To the business:

Has anyone tried to 3d print wing ribs?
If so what material?
If not, why?

As I ponder this, I also have to ask if anyone has measured the temps inside the wing cavities on extremely warm days. (PETg Plastic is moody(soft) up above about 190f)

And then I ponder if anyone has done specific structural testing on wood ribs to see what their fracture points are when tension is applied to various parts.

I don't have plans yet, so don't know the actual chord of the thing, but I do have a 40"x40"x40" 3d printer I call meterbot that we could leverage

Offline Aaron

• Windows NT 10.0 Windows NT 10.0
  • Browser:
Re: PLASTIC!
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2024, 04:41:35 PM »