How to post, how to add pics, how to add an attachment, and how to share a YouTube video...

Author Topic: Introduction and Question to Doug Fir versus Spruce and Epoxy  (Read 3054 times)

Offline Pilotarix

• Mac OS X 10.15.7 Mac OS X 10.15.7
  • Browser:
  • Chrome 91.0.4472.114 Chrome 91.0.4472.114
Hi all,

I am relatively new to the world of Part 103 Ultralight Airplanes, but I am not so new to aviation and the idea of building my own plane. I have a couple of hundred flying hours on the usual suspects (Piper Cessna Diamond) and some hours on Schweitzer and R44.
The above experience is quite a while ago, and I am now trying to get back into aviation.
I am looking for low and slow. Just a couple of hours a month, no cross-country or the like, no going into bigger airports, no stress, not spending huge amounts of money. That was what brought me to Part 103.
First, I stumbled across the Affordaplane and was initially delighted by the simplicity of construction.
However, thereafter I came across the Legale Eagle and was immediately excited, even though the welding part was somewhat intimidating. Meanwhile, I have gotten the plans and waiting on the supplemental wing plans from Iron Design.
I brushed the dust off my TIG welder and started working on my welding skills, currently wasting tons of Argon and 5/8 4130 tubings. I know that down the road, I will need some Oxy/Acetylene as well.

I want to start the Projekt with the wings, mainly because I have to finish other pending projects before I can put up a worktable in the required size, and as mentioned above, I still have to improve my welding skills.

Making ribs does not need a lot of space, and will keep me busy for a while.

Now my questions.
I have a very nice piece of Doug Fir in my Garage, 2x6 20' very good quality, clear straight grain, a leftover from a boat project.

Can I use Doug Fir instead of Spruce?

For wooden boat projects, I use West System Epoxy. Can this be used on the wings?